Reviews   

Cate & Jeff
Murwillumbah, Feb 2019
“This property is on a quite country road with easy access to local communities and national parks. We were greeted by the lovely Julie who quickly showed us the wonderful eco cottage. Great place to relax and unwind enjoying the surrounding bushland. We were also there to do some gravel bike riding and it proved to be a very good choice. Overall the hosts have gone that extra mile to make the cottage stay a wonderful experience, well will be going back! 10/10” (Airbnb)

Greg & Francesca
Noosa Heads, Feb 2019

“Highly recommended! Julie and Ricky are wonderful hosts and the Kookaburra Cottage is a beautiful spot and thoughtfully designed. Treat yourself kindly and check it out.” (Airbnb)

Heidi & Sharmaine
Brisbane, Feb 2019
Julie’s place was wonderful! My best friend and I stayed the night, immediately wishing we’d booked for longer the second we arrived. Julie is an amazing host and is extremely welcoming and helpful. Communication was great and check-in was nice and smooth. The location is great! Nice and secluded from all of the main roads and ruckus of coastal and city life. This was a nice getaway at an Eco Cottage that had everything environmentally friendly and was equipped with everything needed for our stay. Julie had plenty of information about the activities we could do around the area, about the cottage itself and the significance of its eco certification. This made our stay at Julie’s place standout from other Airbnb’s I’d stayed at - purely because there was so much thought put into the cottage and how it could minimise our footprint on the environment. We absolutely loved Julie’s hospitality and the cottage was nothing short of spectacular. Thank you so much for having us, Julie. We will be sure to visit again.” (Airbnb)

Marcello & Kylie
New Zealand, Jan 2019
Kookaburra Cottage was just as beautiful as its hosts! Sadly, we only had an overnight stay and recommend other visitors stay a minimum of 2-3 days to take in this gorgeous property and surrounds. The bird song was particularly amazing to wake up to as was meeting their beautiful puppas. Julie and Ricky are caring and kind hosts which is evident by the loving detail put into all the furnishings, utilities and build of the property. We found it incredibly inspiring and hope more people follow their lead in creating a tiny footprint on their patch of earth. Highly recommended.” (Airbnb)

Anja, Sebastian and Andreas
Germany, Jan 2019
Fantastic accommodation with great attention to detail. The landlords are super nice, afford the desired privacy, but also enjoy a drink on the great porch of the cottage. Also very suitable for children, contrary to the information on Booking.com our son got an extra bed made and had great fun with the dogs of the hosts on the great great terrain. Would like to have more time here. 10/10” Booking.com

Sam & Corinne
Ballina, Jan 2019
Great place, quiet, relaxing. Everything you need.” (Airbnb)

Daniel & Fiona
Kings Cross Sydney, Jan 2019
Lovely hosts, beautiful design, very new. Everything comfortable, discreet, clean and welcoming. Such a lovely break here for one night - could easily have stayed a week. Gorgeous bathroom and balcony with excellent barbecue. Easy trip to Nimbin and nearby waterhole. Woken by bellbirds. A real pleasure.” 10/10 (Booking.com)

Nick & Breanna
Brisbane, Jan 2019
Julie and Ricky have the most amazing space. The cabin is meticulously clean with everything you could ever need including a games and art cupboard. Julie and Ricky are far enough to have you're own privacy but close enough for anything you may need. It's a great experience staying at an eco lodge and Julie does it the best. I highly recommend this to everyone and anyone and i will be back soon! Thanks Julie!” (Airbnb)

Kym & Dave
Tewantin Qld, Jan 2019
Although our stay was short we had such a comfortable night in this beautiful, very clean and tidy cottage. Its in a wonderful bush setting with a symphony of bird calls, especially on an early morning walk on the property. The cottage has been very thoughtfully furnished with everything you need for a short or longer stay - comfy bed, lovely linen, fireplace for cold nights or as we did sitting on the open deck with glass of wine in hand studying the local information provided by Julie. We would highly recommend this cottage.” (Airbnb)

Christine & Sam
Brisbane, Jan 2019
Uralba was a perfect getaway in a beautiful and scenic area. The house was cleverly designed, sparkling clean and surrounded by the most beautiful nature. We felt so at peace among the birdsong and were able to have a relaxing stay.Julie and Rick are perfect hosts, kind and welcoming. The eco-lodge had everything you would need and the grocery shop was only a 10-15 minute drive away.” (Airbnb)

Raphael & Lisa
France, Dec 2018
This place is wonderful, Really stylish, well designed and environmental friendly! I stayed one night but could have stayed a week. Many treks to discover around. Access can be tricky by night, make sure you arrive before the sunset :) I highly recommend this place! Take me back there!” (Airbnb)

Damian & Marion
Adelaide, Nov to Dec 2018
We stayed for a full Month at the ‘Kookaburra EcoCottage’ and were left wanting for nothing, during our stay, in the Rainforest... feeling almost ‘at one’ with nature. Was amazed with view, straight off the balcony... the sounds of ‘BellBirds’, ‘WhipBirds‘, ‘Kookaburras’ and a whole host of others, all seemingly having their slot, in the ‘Rainforest timetable’, along with the ‘Grumbling Koalas’, etc... Each drive,to and from Kyogle alone, is a wonderful experience... The ‘Hanging Rock’ waterhole is fantastic, for a cooling swim and as advised by Julie - seeing the ‘very earliest’ Australian sunrise, from ‘The Pinnacle Lookout’ was/is a wonder to behold...” (Airbnb)

Ron & Michelle
Brisbane, October 2018
The Kookaburra Cottage was a welcome natural respite from the city. We loved the constant birdsong that you can hear throughout the day, it makes the place truly come to life. Julie and Rick were fantastic hosts and have carved this eco cottage to perfection from sustainably sourced materials from the property and nearby. It feels like you are in a luxury treehouse that doesn't feel off grid at all!
Exploring the property was an adventure and we enjoyed learning about the local ecosystem and the regeneration projects on the site. There are some food options available in nearby towns but for us self-catering worked best so we could make the most of being away from the city!
Highly recommended and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.
” (Airbnb)

Bruce & Karyn
Brisbane, October 2018

An amazing little oasis nestled in the forest. Wake to the sound of birds singing. A fireplace to keep you warm, a verandah to chill out in the afternoon as you see fire flies dancing. Very clean and new. The hosts are amazing, helpful but not intrusive.” 10/10 (Booking.com)

Michel and Ros
France, October 2018
Even though the weather was very wet, we enjoyed being around the fire, cooking & easily relaxed. Welcoming ambiance.
We were sitting right in the beautiful nature, trees & birds, everything was great. 10/10”

(Booking.com)

Sabrina & Ed
Gold Coast, October 2018
Julie and Rick have created a beautiful, peaceful cottage with an emphasis on preserving and regenerating the local bush. The cottage is well stocked with lots of extras including books, games, drawing materials and plentiful information on the local wildlife and surrounding areas. Julie was available to greet us, show us the facilities, give us information about the the development of their land and their commitment to the environment. We enjoyed waking to the birdsong, breakfast on the verandah and the visits from Molly and Wendy. A truly unique experience. Thanks Julie and Rick.” (Airbnb)

Luke & Jess
Tweed Heads, October 2018
Absolutely stunning place to unwind and relax great hosts best place I’ve ever stayed, wish I didn’t have to leave “ (Google Business)

Travis
Parkville (Vic), October 2018
Such a beautiful place and amazing hosts!” (Airbnb)

Shelley & Ricky
Tasmania, October 2018
I could write forever about this beautiful tranquil & soul touching stay. The cottage is amazing! The freedom of space nestled in divine bushy surrounds, sharing life with singing birds and wildlife. As soon as you step into the cottage you are embraced to warmly relax. So thoughtfully presented, super comfy and cosy with our love of the outside living on the superb verandah beautifully dressed for relaxing. So many touches that warm your soul. Last but not least the beautiful hosts Julie &Rick, gorgeous hospitality & happy to let you enjoy the amazing property they love and have created. Thankyou, we loved every moment and will be back with bells on.” (Airbnb)

Bruce (Detective Hip)
Brisbane, October 2018
A quaint modern little cottage built by owners Rick and Julie. Very nice everything you need and more. Listen to Bellbirds singing all day long. Very private and extremely relaxing. I forgot to add fireplace, fireflies at dusk. A short drive to the Border Ranges National Park. Walk along the local road and enjoy amazing views. You will not be disappointed!” (Google review)

Wendy & Greg
Marcus Beach, September 2018
We cannot speak highly enough of Uralba. Julie and Rick are wonderful hosts, going above and beyond to make our short stay a memorable one. The accommodation is beautiful and the surrounds offer a unique opportunity to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer. We will definitely be returning to Uralba.” (Airbnb)

Nikki,
Casuarina, September 2018
The eco cottage is such a gem. It's a gorgeous design, very private from the host set amongst the bush. A large deck to relax and hang out in the hammock, well shaded if necessary, listening to and watching the abundant birdlife and I heard a koala also. Julie is super lovely and very laid back. I will definately return.” (Airbnb)

Jamie & Natalie
Ipswich, September 2018
Great spot to getaway and recharge. I would recommend this spot to anyone.” (Airbnb)

Pam & Ralph
Sydney, September 2018
Although ‘Uralba’ is off the beaten track, it is easy to find and a wonderful “eco-experience”. Julie & Rick’s cottage has interesting furniture and artefacts which reflect their hospitality and generosity. A great place to relax and spent a few days”

Tania
Brisbane, September 2018
Lovely restful time spent at Kookaburra cottage on the weekend. Plenty of birds and saw fireflies in the evening! If you love bird life and the peace of the bush this is a fantastic place to relax. A wonderful eco cottage to spend some time in!” (Airbnb)

Katja & Jonathan
Crows Nest Qld, September 2018

Julie and Rick, thank you! Beautiful spot and lovely space, birds, nature, lovely thoughtful touches and very obliging. loved our stay!” (Airbnb)

Chris & Tracy
Swansea NSW, September 2018
Lovely friendly and welcoming hosts who made our stay homely yet also the perfect get away. So peaceful and a very comfortable, spacious , well set up place to stay with thoughtful , generous provisions, and everything you could need, we stayed 6 days and would have been very happy to stay much longer. Great location for using as a base to explore a truly wonderful natural environment, national parks,lovely towns and villages. We highly recommend Julies place for anyone wanting to relax in an idylic ,natural setting with all the comforts of home, spotlessly clean, comfy bed and lounges for relaxing, fireplace, lovely verandah, great space and layout.” (Airbnb)

Beryl and Tim
Blue Mountains NSW, September 2018

"Thank you for a lovely stay.  Your cottage has real class."

Debbie
Mildura Vic, August 2018

"Hi there Julie & Ricky .. what can I say to all that I have read about Kookaburra Cottage.  It is a warm, inviting, fabulous home away from home .. as hosts you were friendly , helpful , informative and nothing was too difficult...this is my big thank you to you both for your generous warm hearts .. my stay with you enabled me to relax, sleep well so I could spend time with my Son partner & beautiful granddaughter Willow.. (when just 2 week old).  I could come and go and I felt safe secure and comfortable ..  When my cousin Kay joined me, she and I could sit out on the verandah, take in the views, listen and watch with delight at various bird life ..   The girls were happy fluffy faces that greeted us looking for a hi and a pat.. I will be back .. take care up there and thanks again Deb 😊  There is so much to see and do from bush walks to trips to the sea all at your finger tips .. well worth a visit .. a 10 out of 10 ❣️"  (Facebook)

Cristy & Lucas
Pimpana QLD, August 2018

"Weekend away... much needed after the last couple weeks. Thank you Julie and Rick for having us in your beautiful cottage. Highly recommend staying here. I’m now less stressed, ready to take on what this week will bring.... very grounding and relaxing. Want to stay here forever. Lol. Definitely coming back again."   (Facebook)

Alice & Matt
France, August 2018

"What an amazing and lovely place ! Julie and her husband are great and so nice people and gave us some cool advices! This place is really peaceful and warm ! We discovered some incredible tracks and falls around. We even saw some wild Koalas and wallabies ! Anyway, if you are going in the region you have to stop in this lovely cottage ! It’s wonderful and you feel like Home !  Thanks again to both of you."  (Airbnb)

Lauren and Luke
Gold Coast, August 2018

"What a fantastic hidden gem! My partner and I stayed in the kookaburra cottage for the weekend and had a great time! The kookaburra cottage looks over the border ranges and we even saw some fireflies at night time. It was a very peaceful retreat emerced in the rainforest, we also saw lots of Aussie wild life! Highly recommend"  (Facebook) 

Jennie & Paul
Cranebrook NSW, July/Aug 2018

"Excellent hosts and a beautiful home... Very relaxing would highly recommend"  (Airbnb)

Heather
Albury NSW, July 2018

"Clean, friendly and stylish"  (Airbnb)

Crista and Rebecca
Coalcliff NSW, July 2018

“Julie and Ricky’s place is very special. This fabulous holiday place was spotlessly clean, had a very comfy bed, was generously equipped with Byron Bay coffee, a great selection of herbal teas and much more. It’s not just a holiday house, it’s a home surrounded by World Heritage Listed National Parks with lots of unique personal touches that make it very special. We especially enjoyed the beautiful pot plants and the artworks throughout the cottage. Julie planted a herb garden especially for the guests and we thoroughly enjoyed cooking with fresh ingredients from the garden:) Julie and Ricky cater for everyone: There is Netflix for TV lovers, a large selection of games or you could just stay and relax with one of Julie’s books or sit on the lovely deck and listen to the birds. The choice is yours. Julie and Rick live in the cottage next door and are always ready to help or chat if that’s what you want. Alternatively you can relax in privacy at Kookaburra House. Again the choice is yours. We would like to thank Ricky to take the time and show us the creek and the amazing work you have done to regenerate rainforest on your property. We had a great morning. We absolutely loved Wendy and Molly ( the dogs). They are a delight and so well behaved ( they come to say hello, love a pat, but never come inside the cottage). This feedback comes from my daughter who is generally apprehensive of dogs :)“  (Airbnb)

John & Keely
Sunshine Coast QLD, July 2018

"Absolutely loved our stay at the Eco cottage. Location was perfectly situated, surrounded by beautiful landscapes. Julie and Ricky thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Highly recommend having Uralba be your base to visit Northern NSW or for a weekend get away."  (Airbnb)

Nick & Julie
Victoria, May & June, 2018

"Highly recommend staying at Uralba Eco Cottages. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped catering to all your needs. Its located in the midst of a stunning peaceful property with lots of birds and walks through the bush and down to the rainforest creek. Plus walks along the quiet road with panoramic views of the valleys and ranges. Ricky and Julie are great hosts (friendly and helpful)." (Facebook)

Shelley & Sharon
Tweed area, May 2018

Julie's place is just lovely! We could have stayed a week. The cottage has complete privacy and is very spacious. Well equipped kitchenette and Julie has thought of all the finer details including hot chocolate and quality coffee and press. Its very close to Kyogle which is a cute and friendly country town worth exploring. Julie is also a great source of knowledge when it comes to Eco Tourism if you have an interest in leaning about the local landscape and its diversity. We would definitely stay again. Thank you Julie!”   (Airbnb)

Alex & Renee
Palm Beach, May 2018

As good as the pictures of Julie and Rick's place look, it's even better when you're there. The attention to detail and the effort put into Uralba's cottage really shows. Little aspects like stained glass windows and original art give the space a lovely character. The kitchen was well stocked not only regarding equipment but also with a considerable variety of teas and coffee. The setting of the property is fantastic with National Parks nearby and picturesque farms all around. Julie's local knowledge was great and it was lovely to see how all the work on the property over the years has ended up with such a fine result. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. I very much intend on visiting again.”   (Airbnb)

Christine
Bellbowrie, May 2018

We were very impressed with the style, layout and cleanliness of the cottage. It was only a 10 minute, or so, pretty drive from Kyogle - well placed for tripping around the northern NSW area. What we weren't expecting was the newly installed wood fire - which was fantastic in the cool May evening! We would highly recommend a stay at Uralba Cottage!”   (Airbnb)

Jess & Adrian
Victoria, May 2018

From the welcoming when we arrived to the good byes when we left, was a fantastic experience. Kookaburra cottage is beautiful the craftsman ship of the building to the interior decoration spot on. Can’t wait to return again soon. Thank you”  (Facebook)

Peter &Tad
from Orange NSW  April 2018

“Exceptional stay, our hosts, the cottage, amenities were excellent and above all expectations. Highly recommended if you're in the area. Yes, is a few km off the main road but very well worth the short drive. Wish we could stay bit longer, but hey is always a next time :) Thanks Julie and Rick, you both should be very proud of that little paradise you've created! Kindest regards, P & T”  (Airbnb)

Valeria & Angelo
from Armidale NSW April 2018

"Julie and Ricky’s place was just AMAZING!! It’s ideally located close to different National Parks and to small towns, but also isolated from all the hustle and bustle. It’s impossible not to relax at Uralba, a true heaven in the rainforest. The space was super clean and provided with everything that you might need (and even more!). The design of the cottage is impressive, with the veranda/deck that can be converted into the same space of the living room, by just opening the sliding doors (and they built the whole place by themselves with materials from the property!). Julie and Ricky (and Molly and Wendy - the dogs) are extremely friendly and wonderful. They checked on us and made sure that we were comfortable at all times. We had a great time at Kookaburra Cottage and would strongly recommend it to everyone :) The world needs more places like Uralba, and more people like Julie and Ricky!!"  (Airbnb)

Tom & Marcia
Darwin NT April 2018

"We unfortunately arrived late at night so we missed the scenic drive in to Uralba (Eco Cottage). The Cottage was spotless and very homely with some nice individual touches such as Julie’s stained glass windows, the stone bathroom floor tiles, the beautiful floorboards and fresh flowers. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in a very special place. It was very quiet and peaceful and we had a great nights sleep. We loved waking up to the sounds of the Bellbirds. Julie was friendly and open and we instantly felt comfortable with her. She was very generous with her time and showed us around and explained how they were eco friendly. We enjoyed reading some of the background to the property in her information booklet. Julie and Rick have done an incredible job in re generating grazing land over the last 25 years. From the worm composting system to tank water and solar power they have created eco friendly accommodation. Thank you Julie for being such a lovely host." (Airbnb)

Cathy & Nev
from Caloundra Qld April 2018
"Julie's place is a true haven in the rainforest. The cottage is well-designed, beautifully appointed and ultra clean. We enjoyed a cosy and comfy stay. Highly recommended."  (Airbnb)

Andrew & Shova
Sydney April 2018

"I wasn't to sure what to expect but when we arrived I was amazed at this place was great it was more than we expected, it was easy to find, the location is out of town so it's best to take food with you before you go its set on a lovely bush property the owners have really done a great job. The place is new great bathroom, comfortable bed three different types of pillows, nice little kitchen, hardwood floors and a really nice little outdoors area to sit and relax while reading or having a cuppa. This place is off grid but you wouldn't know it as they have internet and Telstra TV and netflix please note there is no microwave or Aircon but the place wasn't hot at all many windows and sliding doors to open which allows the air to flow through. The owners do live next door but we hardly saw them or heard them they have two lovely dogs and a great vegetable garden if you need a few herbs etc Rick took us on a small walk to the creek that runs through the property so all in all I would definitely stay here again."  (Airbnb)

Jim
from Victoria April 2018

"I enjoyed my stay at Uralba. Kookaburra Cottage is a beautiful and comfortable space. I spent most of my time reading, relaxing and wandering around enjoying the gardens. It is difficult to describe how special the bird song is, it is rare to hear the sound of so many birds together in the one place. I also encountered a number of wallabies along the road each time I travelled into Kyogle. Rick took me around the property for a tour, and I was quite amazed to see how much regeneration could be achieved in 25 years. Highly recommended."  (Airbnb)

Nathaniel & Monique
from Brisbane April 2018

"Julie and Rick's place is one of a kind! Absolutely beautiful, set peacefully among the trees. The cottage is perfect, enough privacy and wonderfully decorated with all the amenities you need. The thoughtful touches including tea/coffee, board games was a great addition. Julie and Rick were amazing, a lovely couple to chat to and offered many tips for surrounding activities. A great stay and we'll definitely be back!"  (Airbnb)

Dan & Bri
from Pulenvale Qld April 2018
"The Kookaburra Cottage was an absolutely beautiful cottage secluded in amongst the farming hills and rainforests of Northern nsw. The cottage was very private but close enough to Julie and Rick to get help if wanted. The hosts, Julie and Rick, went above and beyond in making the cottage feel like home and provided plenty of things to do with board games, painting equipment, Netflix, and wifi. We drove to Kyogle, Nimbin, Lismore and Border Ranges National Park which were all within an hours drive and had great walks, cafes, markets, and restaurants to explore. It was a beautiful spot, great for those who want to explore national parks, visit local towns or just spend a few relaxing day lying in a hammock amongst the rainforest. Thank you Julie and Rick for your wonderful hospitality and the great effort you put into your cottage."   (Airbnb)

John
Churchill Vic March 2018

"I was driving from Melbourne to Brisbane for a business meeting and decided to stay at Uralba for one night.  I thoroughly enjoyed the break in my busy schedule, and was able to finish a report I needed to prepare on the verandah using the internet. I was even able to print the report. When I left, I felt relaxed and only had 2.5 hours drive to the centre of Brisbane.   This turned out to be a very effective and reasonably priced alternative to a motel."