Reviews   

Charlie, Pablo & Keanu
Brierfield, Oct, 2019
'Julie and Ricky have built and designed a tranquil bush ecohaven that was such a delight! One of the best Airbnbs I’ve stayed in! Julie is a wonderful person, gave us such a warm welcome and was so accommodating, surprising us by providing a few baby accessories that made life a lot easier for my family. She is also a talented artist making beautiful stained glass windows and mosaics! I loved all of her little personalised eco friendly touches in the house. I also loved being surrounded in forest, listening to the birds and insects, feeling stillness and peace. Can’t rave enough about it! It’s a must visit!' (Airbnb)

Anna and Jake
Sydney, October 2019
”Great space! Very large and also a private deck with plenty of furniture. Felt like a real escape to nature and Julie’s property was great- the organic veggie garden is lovely next to the cabin! easy self-checkin as we arrived late and it was quite warm but Julie had gel mats and fans for us to use.” (Airbnb)

Warwick and Jenny
Kiama NSW, Oct 2019
“Generous and genuine welcome in a beautiful setting. Really appreciated the attention to detail and artistic nature of the cabin.” (Airbnb)

Bob & Tracey
Toowoomba, Oct 2019
Very welcoming, comfortable unique place.” (Airbnb)

Stefania & Oliver
Bristol UK, Sept 2019
”A breathtaking and beautiful space. In absolute awe of what Julie and Rick have created over the past 25 years. Surrounded by beautiful birdsong, luxurious comforts and a well equipped kitchen! It’s one of the most amazing places we have stayed (the wild koala was a hit!) Please stay for more than one night if you can!” (Airbnb)

Will & Marnie
Gold Coast, Sept 2019
”I really could not recommend Julie’s place enough! It is incredibly clean and cosy. The photo’s don’t do it justice and the fireplace is absolutely amazing. It’s a perfect choice for a quiet getaway ☺️” (Airbnb)

Mel & Ollie
Brunswick Heads, Sept 2019
We had a lovely night at Julie's place, short but sweet! Located in a beautiful landscape, it was so nice being surrounded by nature. A very cosy, comfortable cottage with everything you need and more. We loved all the thoughtful little touches. The host's were very friendly and welcoming, so were their two beautiful dogs! We will definitely be back, for longer next time!” (Airbnb)

Nadine & Justin
Gold Coast, September 2019
Great cabin, plenty of space. Love all the extra touches such as labels everywhere (i.e. which light switch turns on which light), and details on what to recycle etc. Julie gave us a warm welcome on arrival and we had an amazing chat! We enjoyed the fireplace while we were there. Wish we had another day to enjoy the surroundings. Just note the cabin is off grid : )” (Airbnb)

Mark & Lynda
Shoalhaven, August 2019
”Outstanding in everything. Can’t recommend it more. 10/10” (Booking.com)

Karen & Steve
Brisbane, August 2019
It's a perfect retreat. great location and very relaxing. The hosts are awesome.” (Facebook)

Renee & Anton
Brisbane, August 2019

“AWESOME place and surroundings but most of all AWESOME hosts. Inspirational without being lectured on... we felt Julie and Rick are totally committed to the well being of their guests and preserving this earth .... generous and supremely well organised including Julie's 'encyclopedia' , beautiful & tasteful surroundings without being ostentatious... comfortable +++ without the price tag, and as so many have noted before: the little thoughtful touches are appreciated and delightful: although unnecessary , they contribute to the 'feeling of a special experience'....above all, the simplicity , the naturalness of it all, the non commercial feeling, the personal attention of both hosts ... we felt the hard work they have put and are still putting into their property is coming from a place of love, not to show off, not to impress but just because they love it all. We really enjoyed the company and playfulness of the dogs Molly and Wendy.... as well as the rare sighting of a koala in its natural habitat... We recommend you stay a minimum of 2 nights , one is not enough to take it all in as it is quite a drive from 'everywhere'....just relax, put your feet up in front of the fireplace and feel blessed.... we did!” Airbnb

Sally & Paul
Sunshine Coast, August 2019
”This is a great place to enjoy peace and quiet, relaxing, walking to see some amazing views of the surrounding mountains and gorgeous sunsets. Be prepared to take your own food to cook as its a drive on a gravel road to the nearest restaurant and besides you won't want to leave when you get there and get the cosy fire going. Julie and Rick are lovely people who love what they are doing and growing organically and doing a great job of it.” (Airbnb)

Meaghan & Mitchell
Brisbane, August 2019
”My partner and I had a wonderful week staying here. We felt like it was a home away from home with all the lovely little touches that Julie had made to the property. The stained glass window in the bathroom is gorgeous. It was such a peaceful place with all of the sounds of nature around. A very welcome change from the sound of a bustling city. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area.” (Airbnb)

Mark & Sally
Gold Coast, August 2019
Excellent accommodation and location. Brilliant birdlife. 10/10” Booking.com

Adam & Jordan
Brisbane, August 2019
'My boyfriend and I went away for our anniversary and absolutely loved our stay here! It was a beautiful space and so relaxing. Julie and Rick were so accommodating and very helpful.' (Airbnb)

Song Luck
Thailand, July 2019
Lovely host we will be back next visit. Comfortable Relaxable Very nice house. 10/10” Booking.com

Fran and Con
Gold Coast, July 2019
”We had high expectations for a chilled weekend away however Kookaburra Cottage exceeded them. The photos don't do it justice. It would be impossible not to chill, to the sounds of birdlife, the crackle of the fire and the sound of the breeze through the trees. This is a lovely, spacious cottage and host friendly Julie has put in so many special touches - she's thought of everything. Right down to a box of paints, pencils and how to draw books as well as a wide variety of board games. There's a shady garden retreat to one side of the cottage, with an additional hammock to the one on the cottage verandah. There are a range of herbs and veges growing for visitor use, which we certainly took advantage of - yum! Despite being off the grid, this is not a rustic retreat - everything is finished to a high standard, with many of the building materials recycled or reclaimed from the property. While the cooking equipment is a camp stove/oven, it works perfectly with two burners and an oven and there's a BBQ outside, which we didn't use during our stay. In the light-flooded bedroom, the memory foam pillows are amazing and the linen is lovely. The bathroom features a beautiful stained glass window, which I think Julie made. So much effort has been put into providing information - Julie's guidebook is something else - the history of the property, its many eco features, what to do in the area, Aboriginal history. Well done! Julie and Rick's two gorgeous Rhodesian Ridgebacks are very friendly and accompanied us on a walk through the property. The road in and out is beautiful, featuring stall stands of eucalypts and lovely views to the Border Ranges. We spent a lovely Saturday morning at the Kyogle markets and window shopping in the main street, lined with art deco buildings. Last of all, hosts Julie and Rick are so warm and welcoming. Thanks so much, we definitely will be back.”
(Airbnb)

Courtenay
Gold Coast, July 2019
”Stayed at Julie and Ricky’s place for one night in need of a nature getaway and it was the perfect escape!! Left feeling so relaxed and calm. If you are looking for a place that’s eco friendly and in the middle of nature! Look no further” (Airbnb)

Bill & Linda
Byron Bay, July 2019
”The cottage was so perfect for us. A lovely warm fire in a very comfortable cottage. You won’t be disappointed. Julie is so friendly and a great host.” (Airbnb)

Bethany & Rick
Cleveland Qld, July 2019
This place is perfect to relax and unwind in! It has been done up so beautifully. The quality is excellent, and the thought that has gone into the place is very impressive. Going at a cooler time meant that we could enjoy the indoor fireplace and had some relaxing tunes going through the speaker at the retreat (sound quality is excellent). If we stayed longer, we would have taken out some board games (there were sooooo many!). We had everything we needed plus more to cook and make whatever we wanted with the ingredients we bought. There's also a little garden growing chilli and other things that complemented the meals we made. Couldn't have been happier with this place to unwind in, we really feel refreshed. This is a place we hope to visit again and again!” (Airbnb)

Paul and Jeanette
Brisbane, June 2019
”Kookaburra cottage is a lovely, well-equipped comfortable rainforest retreat. Julie is a great and friendly host. I would highly recommend this cottage for anyone looking for a retreat to the rainforest.” (Airbnb)

Chantal & Scott
(Holland/Brisbane) June 2019
“Recommend this place highly!! Coming back for sure.” (Airbnb)

Emily and Ashleigh
Parkinson, June 2019
”Kookaburra Cottage is in a beautiful location and is well suited for a cozy stay, especially during winter when we went. The cottage is well equipped and very cozy. We had a lovely night stay and didn't want to leave!” (Airbnb)

Julie, Michelle and Margaret
Gold Coast, June 2019
”The hosts Julie and Rick thought of everything! Very cosy log fire. There is so much to see in the area and Julie made a reference book of the property and surrounds for guests. I would stay again to appreciate all the bird life and native trees. 10/10” (Booking.com)

Arran and Beth
Brisbane, May 2019
We had a wonderful stay. Exceeded expectations. Very cosy and private. Loved the fireplace. Many thoughtful touches throughout. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.” (Airbnb)

Julia and Jake
Poland, May 2019
Exceptional. Amazing and unique place in the middle of a beautiful area. Cottage is absolutely lovely with a view of the green forest. Perfect for relaxing and spending some time away from the city noise. I appreciated all the eco solutions and garden with fresh vegetables. it was great to hear about the story behind this place from lovely Julie and her husband. Also loved the company of the friendliest dogs I’ve met in Australia :) Wish we could have stayed longer. 10/10” (Booking.com)

Spencer, Talleah and Amiaha
Grafton, May 2019
”Such a relaxing and peaceful place. Beautiful hosts and the most gorgeous, friendly dogs. We will be back for sure!” (Airbnb)

Michelle and Max
May 2019
Loved it would return and recommend. Location is lovely, very remote and quiet. Loved the wood burning stove. 10/10” (Booking.com)

Nina, Steve, Eloise and Oliver
Coffs Harbour, May 2019
”This place is a treasure! Julie is a wonderful host. So welcoming, thoughtful, generous (and patient with our young kids and their noise). We so enjoyed our stay here and can’t recommend it highly enough. A very comfortable place to stay. We will be back (sans kids)!” Airbnb

Cal (business guest)
Foster NSW, May 2019
Great place to be with plenty of space in the cottage and the surrounding property. Well stocked kitchen...... plenty of wood for the fire...... loved the coffee. Off the grid and peaceful. Poor mobile phone reception (Telstra).” 10/10 (Booking.com)

Sharon & Ray
Melbourne, April 2019
”My husband and I recently had a wonderfully relaxing stay at Uralba Eco Cottage. This place is like staying in heaven. The surroundings are beautiful everywhere you look, both inside and out. We stayed for 10 days but our stay was so peaceful and relaxing we ended up wishing we had booked for a longer period. Kookaburra Cottage is in a word, amazing. Built by Rick with the help of his wife Julie, every feature, nook and cranny is a delight to behold. So too is the thoughtful care both have put into regenerating forest growth on the surrounding acreage. What they have achieved together in creating this lush, peaceful fully self sufficient and beautiful environment is awe inspiring……It is now two weeks since we left and both of us have retained the benefits of the re-charge our stay provided. We will be returning to Uralba Cottages next year.” (for the full version of this review check out our Facebook page )

Caleb & Jacque
Brisbane, April 2019
Julie and Ricky's cottage is like a home away from home. Every detail has been considered to create a easy, relaxing, cosy and comfortable stay. Their beautiful grounds are a testament to their passion for regenerating the surrounding rain forest and habitat. The bird life is abundant and nice to relax to the sounds of the bell bird while sitting on the deck over looking the rain forest. Both Julie and Ricky are lovely people and while the place is private, they are always close by and happy to help in any way. This is one of those hidden gems that will become very popular, so get in while you can!” (Airbnb)

Carla & Shea
Gold Coast, April 2019
Everything about our stay was amazing. Great location, incredibly warm and welcoming hosts in Julie and Ricky, beautiful accommodation and atmosphere...we could not have asked for more! A real hidden gem, perfect for relaxing and unwinding when you want to get away and take some time out.” (Airbnb)

Saadit & Amrita
Sunnybank, April 2019
Amazing eco friendly location. Beautiful and cosy interior, makes for perfect getaway.” (Airbnb)

Ian & Christa
Coalcliff NSW, April 2019
My second visit to Uralba was as great as last time. The lengthy reviews indicate it as well: this place is very special. It is hard to describe all the unique features in a few sentences. Would highly recommend this beautiful home in a stunning location where you are looked after by amazing hosts.” (Airbnb)

Karen & George
Adelaide, April 2019
”Peaceful, with lots of bird life. Lovely homely Cottage with thoughtful finishing touches. Quality soaps, teas etc. a lovely spot to unwind” (Airbnb)

Talia & Luke
Brisbane, March 2019
Amazing!!!! If I could rate 6 stars I would!
Perfect lil getaway location, so peaceful!”
(Airbnb)

Alan & Gilliane
Sunshine Coast, March 2019
Wow, this is such a lovely place and we just finished our visit with a walk in the Border Ranges National Park which is stunning. We'll look forward to coming again sometime.” (Airbnb)

Irene
Melbourne, March 2019
The relaxed peaceful ambience. No traffic noise only beautiful birds and an occasional koala (2 actually). The friendly knowledgeable hosts. Thank you Julie and Rick. Just loved it. 
Will stay longer next time.”
(Facebook)

Reg & Jenni
Brisbane, March 2019
A beautiful cottage, in a lovely peaceful setting. Very clean & comfortable.
Friendly owners. 10/10” (Booking.com)

Geraldine & Clarrie
Ireland, March 2019
Your stay at 'Uralba' will not disappoint. It is an amazing place. You will have two wonderful hosts who go that extra mile to ensure the comfort of their guests. It was our first time in an eco cottage, and it has opened our eyes to see how we should all be living...” (Airbnb)

Chris, Andy & Ainslee
Melbourne, March 2019

Beautiful cottage set amongst the trees where you can sit and watch the wildlife. Lucky enough to see koalas and satin bowerbirds at our visit. Julie & Rick made us feel very welcome with lots of flora and fauna knowledge” (Facebook)

Sean (business guest)
Sydney, March 2019
”Organic, Eco Friendly 10/10” (Booking.com)

Stephen & Marianne
New York, Feb 2019
What a wonderful place - the nicest Airbnb we've ever stayed in. Kookaburra Cottage is new and beautifully designed - it's open and airy, but yet we felt perfectly private at the same time. It's surrounded by nature (especially birds), and short walks gave us some nice views across the valleys and a wallaby or two in the evening. It's "off the grid" but we found all of the amenities we needed (and then some!), including some nice locally sourced coffee. Julie and Ricky were extremely helpful and very kind. We had a hard time leaving - we'd love to come back and visit again!” (Airbnb)

Jemma & Caine
UK and PNG, Feb 2019
Amazing, beautiful and relaxing! Beautiful surroundings, such a homely feel, very friendly and welcoming owners. There was nothing we didn’t like 😁 10/10” (Booking.com)

Cate & Jeff
Murwillumbah, Feb 2019
“This property is on a quite country road with easy access to local communities and national parks. We were greeted by the lovely Julie who quickly showed us the wonderful eco cottage. Great place to relax and unwind enjoying the surrounding bushland. We were also there to do some gravel bike riding and it proved to be a very good choice. Overall the hosts have gone that extra mile to make the cottage stay a wonderful experience, well will be going back! 10/10” (Airbnb)

Greg & Francesca
Noosa Heads, Feb 2019

“Highly recommended! Julie and Ricky are wonderful hosts and the Kookaburra Cottage is a beautiful spot and thoughtfully designed. Treat yourself kindly and check it out.” (Airbnb)

Heidi & Sharmaine
Brisbane, Feb 2019
Julie’s place was wonderful! My best friend and I stayed the night, immediately wishing we’d booked for longer the second we arrived. Julie is an amazing host and is extremely welcoming and helpful. Communication was great and check-in was nice and smooth. The location is great! Nice and secluded from all of the main roads and ruckus of coastal and city life. This was a nice getaway at an Eco Cottage that had everything environmentally friendly and was equipped with everything needed for our stay. Julie had plenty of information about the activities we could do around the area, about the cottage itself and the significance of its eco certification. This made our stay at Julie’s place standout from other Airbnb’s I’d stayed at - purely because there was so much thought put into the cottage and how it could minimise our footprint on the environment. We absolutely loved Julie’s hospitality and the cottage was nothing short of spectacular. Thank you so much for having us, Julie. We will be sure to visit again.” (Airbnb)

Marcello & Kylie
New Zealand, Jan 2019
Kookaburra Cottage was just as beautiful as its hosts! Sadly, we only had an overnight stay and recommend other visitors stay a minimum of 2-3 days to take in this gorgeous property and surrounds. The bird song was particularly amazing to wake up to as was meeting their beautiful puppas. Julie and Ricky are caring and kind hosts which is evident by the loving detail put into all the furnishings, utilities and build of the property. We found it incredibly inspiring and hope more people follow their lead in creating a tiny footprint on their patch of earth. Highly recommended.” (Airbnb)

Anja, Sebastian and Andreas
Germany, Jan 2019
Fantastic accommodation with great attention to detail. The landlords are super nice, afford the desired privacy, but also enjoy a drink on the great porch of the cottage. Also very suitable for children, contrary to the information on Booking.com our son got an extra bed made and had great fun with the dogs of the hosts on the great great terrain. Would like to have more time here. 10/10” Booking.com

Sam & Corinne
Ballina, Jan 2019
Great place, quiet, relaxing. Everything you need.” (Airbnb)

Daniel & Fiona
Kings Cross Sydney, Jan 2019
Lovely hosts, beautiful design, very new. Everything comfortable, discreet, clean and welcoming. Such a lovely break here for one night - could easily have stayed a week. Gorgeous bathroom and balcony with excellent barbecue. Easy trip to Nimbin and nearby waterhole. Woken by bellbirds. A real pleasure.” 10/10 (Booking.com)

Nick & Breanna
Brisbane, Jan 2019
Julie and Ricky have the most amazing space. The cabin is meticulously clean with everything you could ever need including a games and art cupboard. Julie and Ricky are far enough to have you're own privacy but close enough for anything you may need. It's a great experience staying at an eco lodge and Julie does it the best. I highly recommend this to everyone and anyone and i will be back soon! Thanks Julie!” (Airbnb)

Kym & Dave
Tewantin Qld, Jan 2019
Although our stay was short we had such a comfortable night in this beautiful, very clean and tidy cottage. Its in a wonderful bush setting with a symphony of bird calls, especially on an early morning walk on the property. The cottage has been very thoughtfully furnished with everything you need for a short or longer stay - comfy bed, lovely linen, fireplace for cold nights or as we did sitting on the open deck with glass of wine in hand studying the local information provided by Julie. We would highly recommend this cottage.” (Airbnb)

Christine & Sam
Brisbane, Jan 2019
Uralba was a perfect getaway in a beautiful and scenic area. The house was cleverly designed, sparkling clean and surrounded by the most beautiful nature. We felt so at peace among the birdsong and were able to have a relaxing stay.Julie and Rick are perfect hosts, kind and welcoming. The eco-lodge had everything you would need and the grocery shop was only a 10-15 minute drive away.” (Airbnb)

Raphael & Lisa
France, Dec 2018
This place is wonderful, Really stylish, well designed and environmental friendly! I stayed one night but could have stayed a week. Many treks to discover around. Access can be tricky by night, make sure you arrive before the sunset :) I highly recommend this place! Take me back there!” (Airbnb)

Damian & Marion
Bavaria and UK, Nov to Dec 2018
We stayed for a full Month at the ‘Kookaburra EcoCottage’ and were left wanting for nothing, during our stay, in the Rainforest... feeling almost ‘at one’ with nature. Was amazed with view, straight off the balcony... the sounds of ‘BellBirds’, ‘WhipBirds‘, ‘Kookaburras’ and a whole host of others, all seemingly having their slot, in the ‘Rainforest timetable’, along with the ‘Grumbling Koalas’, etc... Each drive,to and from Kyogle alone, is a wonderful experience... The ‘Hanging Rock’ waterhole is fantastic, for a cooling swim and as advised by Julie - seeing the ‘very earliest’ Australian sunrise, from ‘The Pinnacle Lookout’ was/is a wonder to behold...” (Airbnb)

Ron & Michelle
Brisbane, October 2018
The Kookaburra Cottage was a welcome natural respite from the city. We loved the constant birdsong that you can hear throughout the day, it makes the place truly come to life. Julie and Rick were fantastic hosts and have carved this eco cottage to perfection from sustainably sourced materials from the property and nearby. It feels like you are in a luxury treehouse that doesn't feel off grid at all!
Exploring the property was an adventure and we enjoyed learning about the local ecosystem and the regeneration projects on the site. There are some food options available in nearby towns but for us self-catering worked best so we could make the most of being away from the city!
Highly recommended and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.
” (Airbnb)

Bruce & Karyn
Brisbane, October 2018

An amazing little oasis nestled in the forest. Wake to the sound of birds singing. A fireplace to keep you warm, a verandah to chill out in the afternoon as you see fire flies dancing. Very clean and new. The hosts are amazing, helpful but not intrusive.” 10/10 (Booking.com)

Michel and Ros
France, October 2018
Even though the weather was very wet, we enjoyed being around the fire, cooking & easily relaxed. Welcoming ambiance.
We were sitting right in the beautiful nature, trees & birds, everything was great. 10/10”

(Booking.com)

Sabrina & Ed
Gold Coast, October 2018
Julie and Rick have created a beautiful, peaceful cottage with an emphasis on preserving and regenerating the local bush. The cottage is well stocked with lots of extras including books, games, drawing materials and plentiful information on the local wildlife and surrounding areas. Julie was available to greet us, show us the facilities, give us information about the the development of their land and their commitment to the environment. We enjoyed waking to the birdsong, breakfast on the verandah and the visits from Molly and Wendy. A truly unique experience. Thanks Julie and Rick.” (Airbnb)

Luke & Jess
Tweed Heads, October 2018
Absolutely stunning place to unwind and relax great hosts best place I’ve ever stayed, wish I didn’t have to leave “ (Google Business)

Travis(business guest)
Parkville (Vic), October 2018
Such a beautiful place and amazing hosts!” (Airbnb)

Shelley & Ricky
Tasmania, October 2018
I could write forever about this beautiful tranquil & soul touching stay. The cottage is amazing! The freedom of space nestled in divine bushy surrounds, sharing life with singing birds and wildlife. As soon as you step into the cottage you are embraced to warmly relax. So thoughtfully presented, super comfy and cosy with our love of the outside living on the superb verandah beautifully dressed for relaxing. So many touches that warm your soul. Last but not least the beautiful hosts Julie &Rick, gorgeous hospitality & happy to let you enjoy the amazing property they love and have created. Thankyou, we loved every moment and will be back with bells on.” (Airbnb)

Bruce (Detective Hip)
Brisbane, October 2018
A quaint modern little cottage built by owners Rick and Julie. Very nice everything you need and more. Listen to Bellbirds singing all day long. Very private and extremely relaxing. I forgot to add fireplace, fireflies at dusk. A short drive to the Border Ranges National Park. Walk along the local road and enjoy amazing views. You will not be disappointed!” (Google review)

Wendy & Greg
Marcus Beach, September 2018
We cannot speak highly enough of Uralba. Julie and Rick are wonderful hosts, going above and beyond to make our short stay a memorable one. The accommodation is beautiful and the surrounds offer a unique opportunity to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer. We will definitely be returning to Uralba.” (Airbnb)

Nikki,
Casuarina, September 2018
The eco cottage is such a gem. It's a gorgeous design, very private from the host set amongst the bush. A large deck to relax and hang out in the hammock, well shaded if necessary, listening to and watching the abundant birdlife and I heard a koala also. Julie is super lovely and very laid back. I will definately return.” (Airbnb)

Jamie & Natalie
Ipswich, September 2018
Great spot to getaway and recharge. I would recommend this spot to anyone.” (Airbnb)

Pam & Ralph
Sydney, September 2018
Although ‘Uralba’ is off the beaten track, it is easy to find and a wonderful “eco-experience”. Julie & Rick’s cottage has interesting furniture and artefacts which reflect their hospitality and generosity. A great place to relax and spent a few days”

Tania
Brisbane, September 2018
Lovely restful time spent at Kookaburra cottage on the weekend. Plenty of birds and saw fireflies in the evening! If you love bird life and the peace of the bush this is a fantastic place to relax. A wonderful eco cottage to spend some time in!” (Airbnb)

Katja & Jonathan
Crows Nest Qld, September 2018

Julie and Rick, thank you! Beautiful spot and lovely space, birds, nature, lovely thoughtful touches and very obliging. loved our stay!” (Airbnb)

Chris & Tracy
Swansea NSW, September 2018
Lovely friendly and welcoming hosts who made our stay homely yet also the perfect get away. So peaceful and a very comfortable, spacious , well set up place to stay with thoughtful , generous provisions, and everything you could need, we stayed 6 days and would have been very happy to stay much longer. Great location for using as a base to explore a truly wonderful natural environment, national parks,lovely towns and villages. We highly recommend Julies place for anyone wanting to relax in an idylic ,natural setting with all the comforts of home, spotlessly clean, comfy bed and lounges for relaxing, fireplace, lovely verandah, great space and layout.” (Airbnb)

Beryl and Tim
Blue Mountains NSW, September 2018

"Thank you for a lovely stay.  Your cottage has real class."

Debbie
Mildura Vic, August 2018

"Hi there Julie & Ricky .. what can I say to all that I have read about Kookaburra Cottage.  It is a warm, inviting, fabulous home away from home .. as hosts you were friendly , helpful , informative and nothing was too difficult...this is my big thank you to you both for your generous warm hearts .. my stay with you enabled me to relax, sleep well so I could spend time with my Son partner & beautiful granddaughter Willow.. (when just 2 week old).  I could come and go and I felt safe secure and comfortable ..  When my cousin Kay joined me, she and I could sit out on the verandah, take in the views, listen and watch with delight at various bird life ..   The girls were happy fluffy faces that greeted us looking for a hi and a pat.. I will be back .. take care up there and thanks again Deb 😊  There is so much to see and do from bush walks to trips to the sea all at your finger tips .. well worth a visit .. a 10 out of 10 ❣️"  (Facebook)

Cristy & Lucas
Pimpana QLD, August 2018

"Weekend away... much needed after the last couple weeks. Thank you Julie and Rick for having us in your beautiful cottage. Highly recommend staying here. I’m now less stressed, ready to take on what this week will bring.... very grounding and relaxing. Want to stay here forever. Lol. Definitely coming back again."   (Facebook)

Alice & Matt
France, August 2018

"What an amazing and lovely place ! Julie and her husband are great and so nice people and gave us some cool advices! This place is really peaceful and warm ! We discovered some incredible tracks and falls around. We even saw some wild Koalas and wallabies ! Anyway, if you are going in the region you have to stop in this lovely cottage ! It’s wonderful and you feel like Home !  Thanks again to both of you."  (Airbnb)

Lauren and Luke
Gold Coast, August 2018

"What a fantastic hidden gem! My partner and I stayed in the kookaburra cottage for the weekend and had a great time! The kookaburra cottage looks over the border ranges and we even saw some fireflies at night time. It was a very peaceful retreat emerced in the rainforest, we also saw lots of Aussie wild life! Highly recommend"  (Facebook) 

Jennie & Paul
Cranebrook NSW, July/Aug 2018

"Excellent hosts and a beautiful home... Very relaxing would highly recommend"  (Airbnb)

Heather
Albury NSW, July 2018

"Clean, friendly and stylish"  (Airbnb)

Crista and Rebecca
Coalcliff NSW, July 2018

“Julie and Ricky’s place is very special. This fabulous holiday place was spotlessly clean, had a very comfy bed, was generously equipped with Byron Bay coffee, a great selection of herbal teas and much more. It’s not just a holiday house, it’s a home surrounded by World Heritage Listed National Parks with lots of unique personal touches that make it very special. We especially enjoyed the beautiful pot plants and the artworks throughout the cottage. Julie planted a herb garden especially for the guests and we thoroughly enjoyed cooking with fresh ingredients from the garden:) Julie and Ricky cater for everyone: There is Netflix for TV lovers, a large selection of games or you could just stay and relax with one of Julie’s books or sit on the lovely deck and listen to the birds. The choice is yours. Julie and Rick live in the cottage next door and are always ready to help or chat if that’s what you want. Alternatively you can relax in privacy at Kookaburra House. Again the choice is yours. We would like to thank Ricky to take the time and show us the creek and the amazing work you have done to regenerate rainforest on your property. We had a great morning. We absolutely loved Wendy and Molly ( the dogs). They are a delight and so well behaved ( they come to say hello, love a pat, but never come inside the cottage). This feedback comes from my daughter who is generally apprehensive of dogs :)“  (Airbnb)

John & Keely
Sunshine Coast QLD, July 2018

"Absolutely loved our stay at the Eco cottage. Location was perfectly situated, surrounded by beautiful landscapes. Julie and Ricky thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Highly recommend having Uralba be your base to visit Northern NSW or for a weekend get away."  (Airbnb)

Nick & Julie
Victoria, May & June, 2018

"Highly recommend staying at Uralba Eco Cottages. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped catering to all your needs. Its located in the midst of a stunning peaceful property with lots of birds and walks through the bush and down to the rainforest creek. Plus walks along the quiet road with panoramic views of the valleys and ranges. Ricky and Julie are great hosts (friendly and helpful)." (Facebook)

Shelley & Sharon
Tweed area, May 2018

Julie's place is just lovely! We could have stayed a week. The cottage has complete privacy and is very spacious. Well equipped kitchenette and Julie has thought of all the finer details including hot chocolate and quality coffee and press. Its very close to Kyogle which is a cute and friendly country town worth exploring. Julie is also a great source of knowledge when it comes to Eco Tourism if you have an interest in leaning about the local landscape and its diversity. We would definitely stay again. Thank you Julie!”   (Airbnb)

Alex & Renee
Palm Beach, May 2018

As good as the pictures of Julie and Rick's place look, it's even better when you're there. The attention to detail and the effort put into Uralba's cottage really shows. Little aspects like stained glass windows and original art give the space a lovely character. The kitchen was well stocked not only regarding equipment but also with a considerable variety of teas and coffee. The setting of the property is fantastic with National Parks nearby and picturesque farms all around. Julie's local knowledge was great and it was lovely to see how all the work on the property over the years has ended up with such a fine result. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. I very much intend on visiting again.”   (Airbnb)

Christine
Bellbowrie, May 2018

We were very impressed with the style, layout and cleanliness of the cottage. It was only a 10 minute, or so, pretty drive from Kyogle - well placed for tripping around the northern NSW area. What we weren't expecting was the newly installed wood fire - which was fantastic in the cool May evening! We would highly recommend a stay at Uralba Cottage!”   (Airbnb)

Jess & Adrian
Victoria, May 2018

From the welcoming when we arrived to the good byes when we left, was a fantastic experience. Kookaburra cottage is beautiful the craftsman ship of the building to the interior decoration spot on. Can’t wait to return again soon. Thank you”  (Facebook)

Peter &Tad
from Orange NSW  April 2018

“Exceptional stay, our hosts, the cottage, amenities were excellent and above all expectations. Highly recommended if you're in the area. Yes, is a few km off the main road but very well worth the short drive. Wish we could stay bit longer, but hey is always a next time :) Thanks Julie and Rick, you both should be very proud of that little paradise you've created! Kindest regards, P & T”  (Airbnb)

Valeria & Angelo
from Armidale NSW April 2018

"Julie and Ricky’s place was just AMAZING!! It’s ideally located close to different National Parks and to small towns, but also isolated from all the hustle and bustle. It’s impossible not to relax at Uralba, a true heaven in the rainforest. The space was super clean and provided with everything that you might need (and even more!). The design of the cottage is impressive, with the veranda/deck that can be converted into the same space of the living room, by just opening the sliding doors (and they built the whole place by themselves with materials from the property!). Julie and Ricky (and Molly and Wendy - the dogs) are extremely friendly and wonderful. They checked on us and made sure that we were comfortable at all times. We had a great time at Kookaburra Cottage and would strongly recommend it to everyone :) The world needs more places like Uralba, and more people like Julie and Ricky!!"  (Airbnb)

Tom & Marcia
Darwin NT April 2018

"We unfortunately arrived late at night so we missed the scenic drive in to Uralba (Eco Cottage). The Cottage was spotless and very homely with some nice individual touches such as Julie’s stained glass windows, the stone bathroom floor tiles, the beautiful floorboards and fresh flowers. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in a very special place. It was very quiet and peaceful and we had a great nights sleep. We loved waking up to the sounds of the Bellbirds. Julie was friendly and open and we instantly felt comfortable with her. She was very generous with her time and showed us around and explained how they were eco friendly. We enjoyed reading some of the background to the property in her information booklet. Julie and Rick have done an incredible job in re generating grazing land over the last 25 years. From the worm composting system to tank water and solar power they have created eco friendly accommodation. Thank you Julie for being such a lovely host." (Airbnb)

Cathy & Nev
from Caloundra Qld April 2018
"Julie's place is a true haven in the rainforest. The cottage is well-designed, beautifully appointed and ultra clean. We enjoyed a cosy and comfy stay. Highly recommended."  (Airbnb)

Andrew & Shova
Sydney April 2018

"I wasn't to sure what to expect but when we arrived I was amazed at this place was great it was more than we expected, it was easy to find, the location is out of town so it's best to take food with you before you go its set on a lovely bush property the owners have really done a great job. The place is new great bathroom, comfortable bed three different types of pillows, nice little kitchen, hardwood floors and a really nice little outdoors area to sit and relax while reading or having a cuppa. This place is off grid but you wouldn't know it as they have internet and Telstra TV and netflix please note there is no microwave or Aircon but the place wasn't hot at all many windows and sliding doors to open which allows the air to flow through. The owners do live next door but we hardly saw them or heard them they have two lovely dogs and a great vegetable garden if you need a few herbs etc Rick took us on a small walk to the creek that runs through the property so all in all I would definitely stay here again."  (Airbnb)

Jim
(business guest)
from Victoria April 2018

"I enjoyed my stay at Uralba. Kookaburra Cottage is a beautiful and comfortable space. I spent most of my time reading, relaxing and wandering around enjoying the gardens. It is difficult to describe how special the bird song is, it is rare to hear the sound of so many birds together in the one place. I also encountered a number of wallabies along the road each time I travelled into Kyogle. Rick took me around the property for a tour, and I was quite amazed to see how much regeneration could be achieved in 25 years. Highly recommended."  (Airbnb)

Nathaniel & Monique
from Brisbane April 2018

"Julie and Rick's place is one of a kind! Absolutely beautiful, set peacefully among the trees. The cottage is perfect, enough privacy and wonderfully decorated with all the amenities you need. The thoughtful touches including tea/coffee, board games was a great addition. Julie and Rick were amazing, a lovely couple to chat to and offered many tips for surrounding activities. A great stay and we'll definitely be back!"  (Airbnb)

Dan & Bri
from Pulenvale Qld April 2018
"The Kookaburra Cottage was an absolutely beautiful cottage secluded in amongst the farming hills and rainforests of Northern nsw. The cottage was very private but close enough to Julie and Rick to get help if wanted. The hosts, Julie and Rick, went above and beyond in making the cottage feel like home and provided plenty of things to do with board games, painting equipment, Netflix, and wifi. We drove to Kyogle, Nimbin, Lismore and Border Ranges National Park which were all within an hours drive and had great walks, cafes, markets, and restaurants to explore. It was a beautiful spot, great for those who want to explore national parks, visit local towns or just spend a few relaxing day lying in a hammock amongst the rainforest. Thank you Julie and Rick for your wonderful hospitality and the great effort you put into your cottage."   (Airbnb)

John
(business guest)
Churchill Vic March 2018

"I was driving from Melbourne to Brisbane for a business meeting and decided to stay at Uralba for one night.  I thoroughly enjoyed the break in my busy schedule, and was able to finish a report I needed to prepare on the verandah using the internet. I was even able to print the report. When I left, I felt relaxed and only had 2.5 hours drive to the centre of Brisbane.   This turned out to be a very effective and reasonably priced alternative to a motel."